Call Now

Andhra University

Updated on: Mar 11, 2013
Andhra University was established in Andhra Pradesh in the year 1926. The University has more than 100 buildings in sylvan surrounding of Kailasa Hill. The Bay of Bengal is towards its front. At present the university is providing higher education mainly to students of 5 districts- Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Vizianagaram and Srikakulam. 

The University has 5 constituent colleges and 4 AU (Andhra University) campuses. The College of Arts and Commerce is the biggest constituent college in the University with 28 Departments offering 55 courses including 25 Diploma courses.

The University has 19 hostels for men with capacity of more than 3200 seats, and 4 hostels for women to accommodate more than 1100 candidates. Residential accommodation of 340 units of staff quarters is available in the University campus.

The University is also having 2 Health Centres one at South Campus and the other at North Campus and a homoeo dispensary and three guesthouses, Faculty Club, Open Air Theatre and a Campus School for University Staff Children and indoor and outdoor Sports Facilities.

The University is also having Student Services and Welfare Centers in the campus. The other infrastructural facilities available in the University include Academic Staff College, Computer Centre, Press & Publications Division Central Workshop and Photographic Division.

The University is has 13 service centers/institutions in the campus like Agro-Economics Research Centre, Centre for Computer Aided Design, Centre for Technology Forecasting, Centre for Nuclear Techniques, Centre for Religious Studies, Centre for Systems Dynamics & Condition Monitoring and Diagnostic Studies, Centre for SAARC Studies, Centre for Women's Studies, Delta Studies Institute, Institute of Public Sector Management, Institute of Transport Management, Institute for Yoga and Consciousness and Population Research Centre.

Presently, the Andhra University has 575 affiliated colleges to its credit. These colleges are spread across the 5 districts over which the university has jurisdiction.

In 1972 the University started Distance Education program in the following streams -
B.A., B.Com., B.Sc. (MPC, MPCS and MSCS), M.A. English, Hindi, Telugu, Economics, History, Politics & Public Administration, Sociology, Philosophy and Mathematics, M.Com, M.Ed., B.Ed., and eight P.G. Diploma Courses through Distance Education Mode.

The School of Distance Education has 37 study centers across the state and a study center at Sri Venkateswara College Delhi. The enrollment in UG and PG Programs in the School of Distance Education is about 97,000 students.

The Andhra University has following central facilities-

  1. Library
  2. Academic Staff College
  3. Cyber Law
  4. IQAC
  5. USIC
  6. Press and Publications
  7. Training & Placement
  8. Employment & Guidance Bureau
  9. Horticulture
  10. Health Services
  11. Faculty Club
  12. Sports
  13. NSS
For further information related to Andhra University click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter